Parent Page: News id: 25911 Active Page: detailsid:25978

Dale Bratzler Receives Oklahoma Turning Point Council 2021 Public Health Innovator Award

Published: Monday, October 4, 2021

Dale W. Bratzler, DO, MPH, received the Oklahoma Turning Point Council 2021 Public Health Innovator Award during the Oklahoma Partners in Public Health Virtual Conference in September. Dr. Bratzler is Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Administration and Policy at the Hudson College of Public Health, and Professor in the College of Medicine at the University of Oklahoma (OU) Health Sciences Center.

He assumed the role of Chief COVID Officer for the University of Oklahoma in June of 2020. He also serves as the Chief Quality Officer for the three-hospital health system and faculty practice at OU Health. He has served two terms as president of the American Health Quality Association and was appointed to the National Advisory Council for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality from 2005 to 2008 by then HHS Secretary Mike Leavitt. For more than 20 years, Dr. Bratzler has participated in research on prevention of surgical infections and on adult vaccination. He was appointed to the CDC’s Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee by then HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius and subsequently spent a year as a Senior Policy Advisor for the CDC. He has given more than 600 lectures nationally on health care quality topics with a particular emphasis on prevention of surgical site infections and adult vaccination and has published more than 100 manuscripts in journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine, Journals of the American Medical Association, Health Affairs and others. Board certified in internal medicine, he is a Master Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Internists, and a Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Video Link: